<< Back to In the News

Bear Mountain Canada Cup – Norco Factory Team

Posted on March 8, 2016

Wow, that just happened; a Canada Cup in March, in Canada, with an international field on an amazing course with lots of jumps. What a great way to start the season off and check how the winter training is going while riding some really cool trails.

The first Canada Cup of the season just took place at Bear Mountain. The race venue was located outside Victoria, BC just a short drive and a ferry ride from the Norco Bicycle head office in Port Coquitlam.

Most of the Norco Factory Team have been based in Victoria over the winter. The whole team was in town leading up to the event spending time on the course and getting the best preparation possible. Norco Factory Team is not only one of the longest running XC programs in the country, it is also becoming one of the best. We started the season of right with great performances from the team.

Haley was first off to race at 12:30 and this was her first race in the elite women category. She was on the start line with all the best women in Canada including Emily Batty and Catherine Pendrel who are top 10 in the World!

The elite/U23 men were next up including Evan Guthrie, Evan McNeely, Peter Disera and myself, Andrew L’Esperance. It was a solid field with a few Americans making the trip up along with the top ranked Canadians Raph Gagné and Derek Zandstra.

Its not too often we get to race in front our closest family and friends, this was one of the best parts of the weekend for Evan Guthrie.


Elite Women’s Results

1 Catharine Pendrel (BC) Luna Pro

2 Emily Batty (ON) Trek Factory Racing

3 Erin Huck (CO) Scott 3Rox Racing

4 Haley Smith (ON) Norco Factory Team

5 Sandra Walter (BC) Liv Cycling Canada


Elite Men’s Results

1 Raphael Gagné (QC) Cannondale 360Fly p/b Sugoi

2 Derek Zandstra (ON) Scott 3Rox Racing

3 Léandre Bouchard (QC) Cyclone d’Alma

4 Evan McNeely (ON) Norco Factory Team

5 Andrew L’Esperance (NS) Norco Factory Team

6 Spencer Paxson (WA) Kona Endurance Team

7 Marc-Antoine Nadon* (ON) Team Ontario

8 Peter Disera* (ON) Norco Factory Team

9 Stephen Ettinger (WA) Cascade Sport

10 Evan Guthrie (BC) Norco Factory Team


Story by:Andrew L’Esperance